PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] PLease help:Unable to mount a partition after extending with windows disk management

princehektor
March 20th, 2011, 02:45 PM
Hi Friends,
I am a beginner in ubuntu and only recently did i install Ubuntu 10.10 using Wubi. I am dual booting along with Windows 7 64bit. Before i got to know of Wubi, i created a free 20GB partition for installing linux. But since it was of no use , i decided to extend another partition adding this 20GB space.
The problem now is that i am getting the following error while trying to access the partition.

"Error mounting: mount exited with exit code 12: Failed to read last sector (605949951): Invalid argument
HINTS: Either the volume is a RAID/LDM but it wasn't setup yet,
or it was not setup correctly (e.g. by not using mdadm --build ...),
or a wrong device is tried to be mounted,
or the partition table is corrupt (partition is smaller than NTFS),
or the NTFS boot sector is corrupt (NTFS size is not valid).
Failed to mount '/dev/sda5': Invalid argument
The device '/dev/sda5' doesn't seem to have a valid NTFS.
Maybe the wrong device is used? Or the whole disk instead of a
partition (e.g. /dev/sda, not /dev/sda1)? Or the other way around?"

These are the results after running sudo fdisk -l /dev/sda:

"Disk /dev/sda: 640.1 GB, 640135028736 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 77825 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x76c4009c

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 1 992+ 42 SFS
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 * 1 13 102400 42 SFS
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda3 13 6528 52326400 42 SFS
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda4 6528 42717 290694144 42 SFS

Please help me out in this.

Quackers
March 20th, 2011, 02:57 PM
It seems that you may have fallen foul of Windows latest trick.