PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cannot install Ubuntu Server 10.10 on new custom computer

davidtlc
March 18th, 2011, 08:40 AM
alright gang, this problem is driving me nuts.
I built a computer the other day (I'm a newb at all this, so I'm not ruling anything out here)

Specs:

4 GB (2x2GB) Corsair Ram Kit 1066MHz
1TB Western Digital 'Green' HDD (a couple of years old, but I think it's still good - see below)
Gigabyte GA-G41MT-D3 Motherboard
Intel Xeon X3330 Processor
Antec 750W psu
LG Blu-Ray/DVD/CD Reader/Writer w/Lightscribe and all the goodies

Alright, so I put all the components together, and took a look at the Bios, everything looked fine, all the components were recognized, so I shut down, took a freshly created bootable USB stick with Server 10.10 on it, (and yes, I already checked the MD5 from the download). I was 100% able to install it on my Acer Aspire Laptop no problem, and it's still running fine now.

Plugged the USB into my new computer, and booted from it no problem. Part way into the install (and it would vary every time) a file would report being corrupt or not found.

Recreated the USB stick from the install of Ubuntu I did with the original one, and tried again, same problem. This is when I definitely started to come up with the theory that it's the hardware in my new rig.

the first thing I suspected was the RAM. I had 4 sticks kicking around, so I tried a memtest on all of them individually and in the different slots, they all checked out as being fine - ruled that out

then I thought it might be a bad PSU (the one that came with the case was 275W) - got the new one, and still hitting the brick wall.