PDA

View Full Version : [other] How can I use Ubuntu Enterprise Cloud in my private infrastructure?

fernandofat
March 18th, 2011, 02:47 AM
Hi,

I am an experienced system/server administrator trying to understand how can I use Ubuntu Enterprise Cloud in my private infrastructure.

I already Googled a lot and all documentation I found has quite the same approach telling the concept, architecture, elements, components but none of them has a practical approach telling what kind of servers it supports and if it is possible to move them into UEC.

Today I have over 80 different servers (windows and linux; physical and virtual) with many different applications I think that moving these servers into UEC would change (for good) the way I manage servers today wich is the traditional management.

So for an example is it possible to migrate my Active Directory server into the UEC?

At this moment I am not interested in technical details just a practical answer on what kind of servers I can host on a UEC environment.

(if I posted on the wrong forum please let me know.)

kim0
March 18th, 2011, 08:49 PM
UEC doesn't "support" running Windows VMs. You can convince it to run them though with some hacks. Eucalyptus EE does support Windows as per: http://www.eucalyptus.com/products/eee/features

You might also want to look at other datacenter virtualization tools, like running plain KVM virtualization which supports Windows and can be managed with virt-manager

fernandofat
March 18th, 2011, 11:23 PM
kim0, thanks for the reply.

How about migrating my Fedora Core 14 Squid proxy server to UEC? Is this possible?

kim0
March 21st, 2011, 10:19 AM
Well yes absolutely, you see UEC is really a management layer (sometimes called orchestration layer) on top of "normal" VMs. So at the end of the day, it's running virtual machines under KVM hypervisor, and yes of course you can run Linux/squid under KVM

fernandofat
March 22nd, 2011, 12:14 AM