PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] can no longer access folders

dmwdrown
March 17th, 2011, 10:31 PM
Hello I am new to Ubuntu and have been using it for a few months. Recently when I have gone to the Places drop down box and tried to get into any of my folders i get this message:

Could not open location 'file:///home/username'
Failed to execute child process "/usr/bin/arista-transcode" (No such file or directory)I have looked through the forum for the past few days and have still not found a solution that works. Any ideas/solutions will be greatly appreciated.

P.S. As i am an extremely new user please use small words! :lolflag:

Krytarik
March 18th, 2011, 03:01 AM
It seems like you have inadvertedly chosen "arista-transcode" as the default application to handle folders.

Solution: Open the file "~/.local/share/applications/mimeapps.list" and lookup the entry for "inode/directory", it should be like this:

inode/directory=nautilus-folder-handler.desktop;
Here is a good explanation of what may have caused it:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1675491

Greetings.

dmwdrown
March 19th, 2011, 12:03 AM
Thank you as soon as i can get into my computer i will give it a try. It installed new updates and will no longer accept my log in password-sigh :\

Krytarik
March 19th, 2011, 03:39 AM
Thank you as soon as i can get into my computer i will give it a try. It installed new updates and will no longer accept my log in password-sigh :\
Do you get a "password incorrect" message or simply nothing?
Try to login at the console, press Ctrl+Alt+F1 when you are at GDM's login screen to get to one.

To reset your password follow this guide:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/resetpassword

dmwdrown
March 19th, 2011, 01:14 PM