PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] 10.10 Freezes on Installation

Poppyann
March 16th, 2011, 02:32 PM
Hello,

I've tried installing using Wubi from windows, tried installing inside Kubuntu with the live CD, tried the live CD and live DVD and alternate CD options, but it just freezes, on the screen where you decide whether to install updates, whether you're plugged in, connected to the internet etc.

When I install it using the Wubi installer, it DOES install, then I reboot. However, it then just freezes on the loading screen.

I've had Ubuntu on my system before, and Linux Mint KDE, so I don't think my hardware is a problem.

Please try and explain in "simplistic" linux terms, as I am not a pro linux user.

Thanks in advance :D

Bucky Ball
March 16th, 2011, 02:41 PM
Do you have the same issues with 10.04 LTS? More stable and long term support release. ;)

Poppyann
March 16th, 2011, 02:45 PM
Do you have the same issues with 10.04 LTS? More stable and long term support release. ;)

I haven't tried with LTS. I'll give it a go now, if THAT doesn't work I'll just go back to Ubuntu 10.10.

How different is 10.04 that 10.10?

Thanks

Bucky Ball
March 16th, 2011, 02:53 PM
It's more stable and has longer support! ;)

Seriously, there is not much difference. A few apps in 10.10 are newer versions and there are a couple of other differences but negligible. Some people must have the latest, of course, but that is not always the greatest.

10.04 LTS is a stable, long term support release; 10.10 is a rolling release therefore prone to unexpected glitches and hiccups (especially with updates and particularly the newer kernel updates) as things get sorted for eventually the next LTS (2012).

I would avoid the Wubi install, especially with 10.10. They can be problematic. Torrent the ISO if you can, burn a disk or put on USB dongle and install to free space on the hard drive for best results.

Poppyann
March 16th, 2011, 02:54 PM
It's more stable and has longer support! ;)