PDA

View Full Version : HOWTO: Install Linksys WPC11 v.4/ RTL8180 (Open Source)

monomaniacpat
May 5th, 2006, 03:43 PM
First of all, I owe a debt of gratitude to Linux Wireless LAN support (http://linux-wless.passys.nl) for providing an excellent listing of available open source drivers for Linux - something that should be everyone's first stop on route to wirelessness. Also, a big thank you to this forum for helping me resolve some very peculiar issues, which I am still not entirely sure I understand, but which you are free to look at here (http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=167026).

I must admit that I am still not an expert at this and don't entirely understand what I'm doing. But, the steps I am about to explain allowed me to access my wireless network, and this is partly designed for posterity, in case I ever have to re-install the drivers. Hopefully, it will also prove helpful for others.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Having visited the Wireless LAN support webpage, I followed a link to http://rtl8180-sa2400.sourceforge.net/ Following those instructions and not knowing what CVS was, I proceeded to download the tarball from sourceforge. However, having tried to make the files I came up with the following error:

/home/patrick/Downloads/rtl8180-0.21/r8180_core.c:3632: error: structure has no member named `pci_name'

A little bit of googling uncovered the fact the pci_dev structure no longer contains the slot_name member. Which essentially means the file it was looking for no longer exists. A little more googling led me to this (http://www.cwelug.org/cgi-bin/wiki.cgi?Wpc11v4#source) transcript. From this I learned that it was going to be necessary to acquire the drivers from source through CVS.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

OK, the HOWTO part:

Preliminaries:

Download and install CVS either through synaptic or enter the following command in a terminal: