PDA

View Full Version : Im New - Thoughts on Kubuntu?

Poppyann
March 16th, 2011, 08:50 AM
Hello everyone :)

I'm new to this forum, and SORT of new to Linux. A while ago I had Ubuntu installed, and liked it, but I gradually stopped using it. Recently, I've been trying out Linux Mint, but for personal preferences I have come back to Ubuntu!

I would like to try out Kubuntu, and would love hearing your thoughts on the latest version. I want to try KDE over GNOME because I got a bit bored of the gnome UI, and I'm one for really nice graphics, etc.

So please post your opinions, and maybe if you've tried both, your own personal comparison and overviews?

Thanks everyone :D

weasel fierce
March 16th, 2011, 08:57 AM
Used Ubuntu pretty much since the earliest days (was my first linux) and just switched to Kubuntu 3 days ago :)

So far, I am loving every second of it.

I'd be happy to answer any specific questions you got, though I am still really new to Kubuntu.

NightwishFan
March 16th, 2011, 08:59 AM
I really like Kubuntu. I prefer standard Ubuntu and they way it works though. Nothing I can say will convince you either way. Try a live cd and see if you like it! :)

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=kubuntu

Poppyann
March 16th, 2011, 09:06 AM
weasel fierce:

Thanks for the response.

I take it you are using the newest Kubuntu release? Mint KDE seemed to be a bit buggy to me, would you say Kubuntu is the same, or have you noticed any bugs so far?

Also, one of the things I really liked about Ubuntu was the docks in the software centre. Is this possible on Kubuntu?

Thank you! :D

NightwishFan:

I agree, I do like the way that Ubuntu works too. I will try a live CD like you said, and see what's going on.

Thanks for the youtube link, I was just about to search that up haha.

Elfy
March 16th, 2011, 09:11 AM
If you have enough system spec to run kubuntu from a vm - try that.