PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] office 2007 install on ubuntu 10.10

killergoat117
March 16th, 2011, 02:02 AM
i have successfully installed office 2007 on ubuntu 10.10 using "PlayOnLinux". I am now trying to activate my version of office, but when i get to the screen to type my code nothing is entered in the box...i cant even get a blinking bar to appear in the box. I tryed just typing it in even though it did not appear (nothing happened)...ive tried disabling compiz and could not get it to work...any suggestions people?

Amcfar75
March 19th, 2011, 01:52 PM
Hi Killergoat117.
I have exactly the same problem but i am running 10.04. I have never used play on Linux before now and I was impressed at how easy it was to install office 2007 on it. As you have described everything works but I just can't type in to the activation code box. This is a very annoying problem. I have previously just used wine to install office 2007 and played around with the configuration guided by the how tos on this forum. I am contemplating reinstalling office 2007 but not using play on Linux but just using wine although this is somewhat fiddly. Have a look at the how tos on this forum if you fancy giving that a go.
Sorry i can't give a quick and easy answer and i can't guarantee that reinstalling with wine will be fix the problem but it is the only thing i can think of. If anybody has a better way to fix it i would be very keen to hear it cos i really don't want to have to reinstall office 2007.
Hope that helps.

Jagoly
March 19th, 2011, 01:56 PM
If you register it, there will be problems. I installed a cracked office 2007 first to check compatibility. Powerpoint, publisher and others don't work. Only Word and Excel. Test it out with a crack before registering. Unless of course it gives you a trial. I can't remember.

Amcfar75
March 23rd, 2011, 06:06 PM
Hi Jagoly