PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Downgrade from 11.04 alpha to 10.10?

donalgodon
March 12th, 2011, 06:58 PM
First post.

Is there anyone who can give me some help on how/if I can downgrade my dual-boot partition (win-7/11.04) to 10.10 without having to reformat the entire disk?

Can I use the same partition I installed the alpha 11.04 on to install 10.10 and save myself a lot of work?

Is it possible to simply reformat the Ubuntu Linux partition and re-install 10.10 there while preserving my Windows 7 installation?

Can I keep the newer GRUB boot loader for 11.04 (I like it better), or will I be forced to downgrade that as well?

I just tried the alpha, and I can't use it. It's still too green, so I want to go back to 10.10 the easiest way possible, but I'm new to Ubuntu, so I'd need a little detail on the process of using the advanced partition features (if this is even possible).

Thanks in advance to any and all responders.

Frogs Hair
March 12th, 2011, 07:12 PM
I'm afraid down grades are not possible , you will have reformat the Ubuntu portion of the disk . See the Ubuntu after Widows section at the link. https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

donalgodon
March 12th, 2011, 07:45 PM
Okay, I don't mind having to reformat the Ubuntu partition, but I tried it once and ended up unable to do anything, and having to reformat the entire disk and start again.

Is there a simple way to reformat the partition from the Live install CD and re-install to it?

I've tried (and failed) to do this, so I'm here asking. :)

donalgodon
March 14th, 2011, 02:54 PM
Solved. I realize why I failed. It's that I was not aware that you needed to select the FIRST option in the drop down menu of the advanced formatting section that is labeled simply "/" (no quotes)when selecting the existing ext.4 partition to reformat and install. Simply selecting the partition alone, even with reformat, does not allow installation until the sub menu is selected.