PDA

View Full Version : What is it that makes a language good?

Gerontion
March 12th, 2011, 12:46 PM
Not as in 'What's a good language to learn?' but simply, what is it about a programming language which makes you think it's good? By way of background, I'm very new to programming and have been learning through ActionScript 3 (mainly because, as someone who can turn a computer on without breaking it, I've been deemed 'good at computers' and have thus been asked to write some elearning software) so I've got no axe to grind...but at the same time, although I'm rather taken by programming, I've got but no real basis for understanding what it is that gets everyone excited about, for example, Python (or C++ or whatever it is) as opposed to any other language.

slooksterpsv
March 12th, 2011, 12:58 PM
Something that is readable without having to make it readable. Something that is powerful, but simple. Something that has automatic memory management so if you "forget" you don't get leaks. Being able to use descriptive variables and functions.

E.g.

def permutation(n):
if n <= 1:
return 1
else:
return n * permutation(n-1)

And not:

int p(int n)
{
if(n <= 1)
return 1;
else
return n * p(n-1);
}

Tech. two different languages, but look how confusing that can be - what is p? What does p do? And you gotta read through it to figure it out.

Designer friendly I think is a good one, not just GUI, but how you implement it. It should be cross-platform, able to integrate well.

I dunno what else I can say, but those are my thoughts.

NovaAesa
March 12th, 2011, 01:20 PM
what is p? What does p do? And you gotta read through it to figure it out.

That's hardly fair, a true comparison would have both procedures named p or both procedures named "permutation", or better yet "factorial".