PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Adding Windows XP to existing 10.10 install

nikephorous
March 12th, 2011, 01:46 AM
Hi,

After spending almost 100 hours trying to get my MP3 player working I have decided to add an XP partition and use it there.

I am an Ubuntu newbie and am finding the whole "new-dos" experience too frustrating for words.

Can someone please explain in ENGLISH for an IDIOT how I can do this.

;)

Cheers

beew
March 12th, 2011, 02:16 AM
What problems do you have with Ubuntu's mp3 player? Did you install the packge Ubuntu-restricted-extra? You need to install the codecs to play mp3.

nikephorous
March 12th, 2011, 02:36 AM
Hi,

Sorry - external MP3/flash player. Listed as being suitable for Vista/W7/XP, but for some reason will not even show up when plugged in. Very frustrated - the time I have spent on this if converted to overtime would have bought me a Macbook and an ipod touch!

](*,)

nikephorous
March 12th, 2011, 11:35 PM
Never mind - like most forums this one is clearly a waste of my time.

73ckn797
March 13th, 2011, 12:02 AM
You have not given people much time to help you. Are you sure you have spent the time trying to figure out the issue you ask about as you have waiting for an answer to this?

People would need to know the brand and model of the device you cannot get working.

XsheepX
March 13th, 2011, 03:23 AM
If it's dual-booting XP and Ubuntu you want,

First thing you want to do is install Windows XP, and use the entire hard drive, so back up your files!
Then, install Ubuntu second, and use however much space you want.

You could do it the other way around, but you probably don't want to have to mess with grub after Windows overwrites it.

Skulduggery
March 13th, 2011, 03:37 AM