PDA

View Full Version : Language of the Future

pi3.1415926535...
March 11th, 2011, 03:57 AM
What do people think the language of the future will be (both coding and speaking)?

I think that Mandarin, German, or English (Almost certainly for the near future). I think that python will become even more important, though if the world language becomes something other than English, it might be translated, though typing in a logographic (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logogram) language would be difficult.

uRock
March 11th, 2011, 04:00 AM
I have my money on Spanish.

odiseo77
March 11th, 2011, 04:03 AM
As for natural languages, maybe Mandarin or Spanish. As for programming languages, I'm not sure (I'm not a programmer).

mmsmc
March 11th, 2011, 04:08 AM
german, used to think it was java(as it ran every internet application) but they have recently gone downhill, so now i am not to sure, ill take a wild guess COBOL :)

themarker0
March 11th, 2011, 04:08 AM
I'm gonna say C++ and Either Spanish or a new formed language.

Khakilang
March 11th, 2011, 04:11 AM
India or Chinese since they have the largest population around the world. I am not sure about computer language but Python seem to be very popular.

Lucradia
March 11th, 2011, 04:21 AM
I believe that once we use nanomachines in our bodies as a norm, we will have broken the language barrier with automated translation systems (IE: A mechanical babelfish of sorts.)

Gerontion
March 11th, 2011, 04:55 AM
No idea about programming languages but English will remain as the default international language for the foreseeable future. It's easy to get started (though, admittedly, difficult to master) and it's got huge momentum (it's alleged, for example, that there are 300-odd million Chinese learning English). Spanish, French, Arabic, Hindi, Mandarin, etc are obviously regionally significant but I very much doubt that any of them are going to displace English in the foreseeable future.

---

I think that Mandarin, German, or English