PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installation Problems

Aruman
March 10th, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hi I'm Aruman and I'm new to Ubuntu Forum

My Problem is that I have a new Sony Vaio Z series with the 128GB SSD HD(dual 64GB Hd) And I want to install Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bits and Ubuntu 10.10 32-Bits and using a partition to share files between them (Fat32) but when trying different times and different ways of partition the drives I got diff errors like first i got Grub loading error 17, then Error 21 and now Error 22, what I'm doing wrong? maybe the dual 64 GB is giving me some problems for the partitions? what's the best way to do this?

I want 40GB for Win7, 20 GB for Ubuntu 10.10 around 8GB for linux-swap and the rest for Shared Files(Fat32) between the two Os.

I've done this before with WinXp and Ubuntu on one single physical HD but never with the new SSD HD (dual physical drive ) maybe theres the problem? don't know much about the Solit State Drives.

Also I've tried installing Ubuntu 10.10 64-Bits but I can't see anything the Graphics is way off is there a problem with the 64-Bits Version? that's why now I choose the 32-Bits.

Anyways thanks a lot,

Aruman.

An Sanct
March 10th, 2011, 02:47 PM
Welcome to the forums!

First: SSD is "just" another hard drive, the way information is stored and the read speed make no difference to OS (Windows/Linux) it is treated just like a normal hard drive.

Second: why 8GB swap? Do you really need 8Gb of swap?

Third: If you want to share data between OSes, Linux has no problem with reading NTFS, so it would be best to make the shared partition NTFS.

About the grub errors, I don't know them. I would install windows7 first and then install Ubuntu alongside windows, that way you get both OS without problems.

I use 64bit Ubuntu, never had a problem (I didn't cause myself).

coffeecat
March 10th, 2011, 02:53 PM
Welcome to the forum.

First...