PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu 10.10 on Eeepc without deleting recovery f9?

tatsvill
March 6th, 2011, 05:00 PM
Im new to Ubuntu and can't understand the whole /dev/sda stuffs ntfs limitation etc.

So i kinda need a little help here.

I have a 1005ha eepc notebook. it has 4 partition on it.
sda1 ntfs 77.4gb
sda2 ntfs 77.4gb
sda3 fat32 5.2gb
sda4(unknown) 49.4mb

Now my question is, how do i install properly ubuntu w/o killing the f9 recovery mode of eeepc. Cuz incase i want to revert back to windows i can just hit F9 at start up.

I want to use the 1st partition as my ubuntu OS then second partition as my extra storage. But i dont know how to set it properly.

Should i first change the SDA2 from ntfs to ext3 or 4? or fat 32 file system?

then click install now to sda1 ntfsto install the linux and delete the windows xp?

What is the Swap part in the partition? do i need it?

if i convert the sda2 to ext3 will it still be just the same as fat32? just copy paste stuff there?

Sorry for the noob questions. hehe

dabl
March 6th, 2011, 06:07 PM
A hard disk drive (or SSD) can only have a maximum of 4 primary partitions, and so you are already maxed out. The only way to have more partitions on that drive is to first delete one of the existing 4, leaving 3, and then add a new partition that is an "Extended" type, rather than primary. Within an extended partition, you can have multiple logical partitions, within the limits of your total drive capacity, of course.

That's high-level, I know. You have a decision to make, before dealing with "step by step". :)

tatsvill
March 7th, 2011, 12:39 PM
Yeah, what i would like to happen is that

my 1st partition(whre windows is loaded) is to be replaceed with a clean install of ubuntu, then the 2nd partition is soo i could store files. I was wondering is that the 2nd partition is in NTFS, and i think ubuntu cant read ntfs, making the 2nd partition unusable?