PDA

View Full Version : Why aren't we allowed to mix and match RAM?

brawnypandora0
March 3rd, 2011, 06:37 AM
I've been using 256MB SDRAM for the last ten years. My motherboard slot has DDR1 slots, but I don't understand why my motherboard manual says installing a DDR1 RAM stick alongside SDRAM is forbidden?

maqtanim
March 3rd, 2011, 07:55 AM
At first glance, I thought you are saying that Ubuntu is prevented you not to use the RAMs! :lolflag:

HereInOz
March 3rd, 2011, 08:24 AM
It sounds a little like you may have one of those rare old boards which have both SD and DDR slots. If this is the case, then it is usually not possible to mix the RAM, due to the different speeds, and the way that the operating system addresses the different types of RAM.

So it is either one or the other. It was the same with the even older boards which had both EDO and SD slots in them. It was one or the other, not a mix of both, for the same reasons.

Hope this helps.

brawnypandora0
June 11th, 2011, 12:05 AM
It sounds a little like you may have one of those rare old boards which have both SD and DDR slots. If this is the case, then it is usually not possible to mix the RAM, due to the different speeds, and the way that the operating system addresses the different types of RAM.

So it is either one or the other. It was the same with the even older boards which had both EDO and SD slots in them. It was one or the other, not a mix of both, for the same reasons.

Hope this helps.

What about mixing and matching DDR1 and DDR3?

Paqman
June 11th, 2011, 12:37 AM
What about mixing and matching DDR1 and DDR3?

I don't think there would be any board that could accept DDR1 and DDR3. I've got one that does DDR2 and DDR3. No mixing and matching allowed.

forrestcupp
June 11th, 2011, 12:53 AM
The only thing you can usually mix and match are different speeds of the same kind of RAM. Then, if your motherboard can handle that, it usually defaults all of the RAM to the slowest speed.

3Miro