PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Help Terminal!!!!!!

omnom
February 28th, 2011, 10:54 PM
Well I am new to the Ubuntu and the Linux Oses so I need some help....

I open the Terminal and I have already made a script, but I can't run it!!!! I am in the directory the script is and I can't open it!!!! :(
that's what I wrote in the script:

#!bin/bash
cd Programmes
mkdir OmNom

Then I save it and open the terminal. I find It at the directory I saved it BUT can't R U N it!!!!!:(

Please help me!!!!!!!!!:-?:cry:8-[:neutral:

Frogs Hair
February 28th, 2011, 11:07 PM
There are other ways , but I learned from here. http://linuxcommand.org/wss0010.php

mikewhatever
February 28th, 2011, 11:10 PM
Can't run is a vague statement, unless you actually tell why not.

lucasart
February 28th, 2011, 11:13 PM
Well I am new to the Ubuntu and the Linux Oses so I need some help....

I open the Terminal and I have already made a script, but I can't run it!!!! I am in the directory the script is and I can't open it!!!! :(
that's what I wrote in the script:

#!bin/bash
cd Programmes
mkdir OmNom

Then I save it and open the terminal. I find It at the directory I saved it BUT can't R U N it!!!!!:(

Please help me!!!!!!!!!:-?:cry:8-[:neutral:

chmod +x ./file.sh
./file.sh

if you're a linux beginner, then perhaps shell scripting isn't for you just yet. But once you understand more about the system (read the ubuntu manual), you should look at bash guides on internet.

sandyd
February 28th, 2011, 11:15 PM
chmod +x file.sh
./file.sh

but more generallt if you need to write bash scripts, you'll find bash a very powerful but somewhat more complex than DOS for example. Just google for a bash tutorial and start from there.
fixed.

The Linux Cynic
February 28th, 2011, 11:16 PM