PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] HPLIP On Ubuntu 10.04 Server

gdeeble
February 28th, 2011, 06:11 PM
Good Afternoon, and thank you for looking. I'm still relatively new to Linux in general but I've jumped ship from CentOS, as a lot of friends said that this would be easier for me to use. I've seen a lot of great features of the Ubuntu Server and want to thank everyone who's put this together along with a lot of the posts that people who've answered questions for other people that I've used. The main reason for starting to use the Ubuntu is the recommendation which I should have done from the start, but the other side is, I've got an HP Photosmart All-in-one C5580 printer, which I've searched for info on, but can not get to work right. I've asked my friends who've recommended this, and I've installed the proper programs(Cups and HP Lip) and seem to still be having issues. The problem I'm experiencing, is that when I install the printer, no PPD is found for my printer, despite the fact that HP LIP says it's supported. I know when I hooked the printer up in CentOS it was found as a C8100 without HP LIP and I couldn't figure out exactly how to use the HP LIP properly with it. With this it's detected as a C5500 and didn't have the driver, so I've searched for a guide to get it to work right, but have been unsuccessful, the only things I've found are about the bug of it printing in 600dpi vs 1200dpi which included a PPD file but when I use that, it seems that the printer only prints on the bottom right corner of the page. If anyone has some tutorials for this printer or has personal experience with setting up this printer and could provide me either the tutorial(which I'm not lazy, I'll attempt read it and see if I can't fix it from the tutorial first, then ask for more assistance) or some direction and assistance with getting this up, I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks for all your time. -Gary

gdeeble
February 28th, 2011, 09:26 PM