PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Boot ubuntu from pen drive then to sata?

jpin321
February 28th, 2011, 06:05 PM
OK, Forum help me out here.

I have a HP PC that I have installed a PCI SATA controller in. The PC doesn't support booting from the card.... So here is what I would like to do. (btw..I'm a seasoned noob on Linux.)

I would like to be able to boot ubuntu 10.10 from a usb pin drive 2Gb to a point where the kernal can recognize the SATA drive then start the OS from the SATA HDD.

I can see and access the drive if I boot to a live CD but when I install it won't boot because the PC's bios does not see the PCI card.

This has to be possible but my Google foo isn't strong enough to find out how.

Would a simple GRUB install on the pen drive work?

metalf8801
February 28th, 2011, 06:20 PM
I haven't done this before but it sounds like you want to put your /boot partition on your flash drive and all of the other partition on your Sata hard drive. I think you can do this using the advanced partitioning option during the install.

I hope this helps and please post if this does or doesn't work
Dan

Edit and Important
Since grub is going to be on this drive you will always need it when you boot this computer even if you are booting into another OS on a different drive unless you disconcert the other drive(s) when you do the install. Then after the install and you reconnected the hard drive(s) you have to press a key at bios screen to select which drive you want to boot to. Often the key is F12

jpin321
February 28th, 2011, 06:46 PM
I haven't done this before but it sounds like you want to put your /boot partition on your flash drive and all of the other partition on your Sata hard drive. I think you can do this using the advanced partitioning option during the install.

I hope this helps and please post if this does or doesn't work
Dan

Edit and Important