PDA

View Full Version : Installation Problem: Ubuntu Netbook on Thinkpad R51E

Will S
February 27th, 2011, 06:34 PM
Hi,

I'm new to Ubuntu (and to Linux in general). I have a legacy thinkpad that I want to experiment with.

It's an Intel R51E
Intel Pentium 1.86 GHZ
781 MHZ, 488 MB Ram

and I attempted to install the most recent (as of 1-2 months ago anyway) version of Ubuntu Netbook.

I did a complete install from CD and it was partially successful (The computer shows the Ubuntu startup screens, completes the boot, and even finds my wireless) but when it's done I don't see any toolbars or icons. If I mouse over the edges they appear for a fraction of a second then disappear again. I'm guessing this has something to do with the display preferences being set for a Netbook screen? but since I'm unfamiliar with the OS I don't know how to tweak it.

Any help would be appreciated and I can provide whatever additional info is needed.

Regards,
Will

harrisonk
March 1st, 2011, 05:33 PM
What is your graphics card make? You might need a propritary driver. to see find hardware drivers in one of the menus (I don't use the netbook interface so don't ask me where anything is) open it up and see if it thinks you need a driver.

Harrison

Will S
March 3rd, 2011, 04:39 PM
Thanks for getting back to me.

I'm running an ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Graphics

I've made some progress since my last post. In safe and regular desktop mode, things appear to display correctly and I'm able to get online and see the installed software. I don't need the netbook interface so I don't mind that it isn't enabled but I do want to make sure I have the correct drivers installed.