PDA

View Full Version : Bash scripting: Arguments to script

evillan
February 26th, 2011, 11:52 PM
I'm a noob a bash scripting and want to write a script where the number of arguments (i.e. $ script.sh arg1 arg2 arg 3... etc.) varies.

Is there any easy way to do this?

The arguments will later be used in the script and should have individual names (but that shouldn't be a problem, i.e. @1, @2, @3 etc.).

Furthermore is there a simple way to count the number of arguments? I could of course make a for loop or something, but it would be great if there was an actual function.

Thank you!

cgroza
February 26th, 2011, 11:54 PM
The command line arguments are accessed via the variables $1, $2, $3 etc.
$0 is the name of the script.

Joeb454
February 27th, 2011, 12:16 AM
To count the number of arguments passed to a script, you use $#, so if I wanted to ensure there were 2 arguments, I would do something like
if [ $# == 2 ]; then
#do stuff here
fi
The script itself isn't included in this count.

LarryJor
February 27th, 2011, 01:38 AM
I'm not sure where you plan to go with this - it would be difficult to set up a program that can read in a different number of arguments and still sort out what they are at run time. I THINK the concept you are asking about can be covered with the responses given, if a little more interpretation is provided. According to "Linux Shell Scripting with Bash", by Ken O. Burtch, you would use something like this:

#!/bin/bash
#
#
if [ #$ -eq 0 ] ; then
printf "%s\n" "Type --help for help."
fi

# processing the arguments

while [ $# -gt 0 ] ; do
case "$1" in
-h | --help) # show help
printf "%s\n" "Use MYPRGRM [-h][--help] -c companyid"
exit 0
;;
-c ) shift
if [ #$ -eq 0 ] ; then
printf "MYPRGM:$LINENO: %s\n" "Company for -c is missing" >&2
exit 192
fi
COMPANY="$1"
;;
-* ) printf "MYPRGM:$LINENO: %s\n" "Switch $1 not supported" >&2
exit 192
;;
* ) printf "MYPRGM:$LINENO: %s\n" "Extra argument or missing switch" >&2
exit 192
;;
esac
shift
done