PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Ubuntu/Os X Virtualization Advice

palantir6er
February 26th, 2011, 09:54 PM
So I'm a fairly new Ubuntu user and I'm upgrading my laptop to a Macbook Pro and considering a number of options for running Ubuntu alongside Os X (which I have no experience with).
I have not used virtual machines like virtualbox, parallels, or vm fusion before so perhaps you guys could offer some advice on the best configuration from personal experience.

1) I could run Mac Os X with virtual Ubuntu via one of the above tools? (Which?)

2) Run Ubuntu :) with virtual Os X via one of the above tools?

3) Install both on separate partitions and use a virtual machine on each to access the other partition (Is this possible?). Is there a difference running say a virtual Os X from Ubuntu and running the Os X on the other partition as a virtual machine from within Ubuntu?

Let me know what you think or what your set up is and how you like it! Also which of the tools you use.

jeremyjjbrown
February 26th, 2011, 10:01 PM
So I'm a fairly new Ubuntu user and I'm upgrading my laptop to a Macbook Pro and considering a number of options for running Ubuntu alongside Os X (which I have no experience with).
I have not used virtual machines like virtualbox, parallels, or vm fusion before so perhaps you guys could offer some advice on the best configuration from personal experience.

1) I could run Mac Os X with virtual Ubuntu via one of the above tools? (Which?)

3) Install both on separate partitions and use a virtual machine on each to access the other partition (Is this possible?). Is there a difference running say a virtual Os X from Ubuntu and running the Os X on the other partition as a virtual machine from within Ubuntu?

Let me know what you think or what your set up is and how you like it! Also which of the tools you use.

You can do any of these.