PDA

View Full Version : [other] I think I probably screwed up here... [Win/Ubuntu dual boot]

Gustavson
February 26th, 2011, 04:51 PM
Okay, so recently I built my own computer and decided to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu. I was able to build it relatively quickly and decided to install Ubuntu due to the fact that the windows 7 Disk had not arrived yet. Now I am completely lost, I am new to Ubuntu and don't really know how it works, which leads to this post.

I am having trouble finding a way to create a partition on the hard drive through Ubuntu to install windows on, and have no Idea how I would create said partition. (you can see I obviously didn't think this through). So now comes my question, is there a way to create a partition to install windows on. Or would I have to wipe my hard drive and Install windows then Ubuntu? (and if that's the case how would I be able to do that?) Or is there some other way to do this that I have not heard of yet.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Frogs Hair
February 26th, 2011, 04:55 PM
Here are a couple of resources .

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WindowsDualBoot

howefield
February 26th, 2011, 04:56 PM
It is easier to install Windows first then Ubuntu, but by no means the only way. Windows will wipe out your grub meaning you won't be able to boot into Ubuntu until you reinstall grub.

Booting up with the Ubuntu Live CD and going to System > Administration > GParted Partition Editor will allow you to partition up your disk.

sikander3786
February 26th, 2011, 04:59 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu and the forums :-)

First of all, Windows needs a primary partition to boot from and secondly, after installation of Windows, you'll need to re-install Grub (Ubuntu bootloader) for dual-booting as Windows over-writes the MBR.