PDA

View Full Version : Canonical & Banshee Agree to Disagree

Hippytaff
February 25th, 2011, 12:39 AM
Whats this about third party arrangements between ubuntu and banshee (mono based) and profit's for canonical?...I must applaud canonical for their market awareness!

Tibuda
February 25th, 2011, 12:46 AM
Inb4 Mono flamewar.

Are you talking about the revenue Canonical will get from both UbuntuOne store and Amazon store in Banshee?

Hippytaff
February 25th, 2011, 12:56 AM
yeah...surely it is a good thing...would this not bring linux to the masses, but (apparently...according to some) this is not so good!? is it good?

I'm new to the whole GPL and other (free) licensing agreements

Tibuda
February 25th, 2011, 01:39 AM
The "masses" have nothing to do with this.

Yes, it is a good thing for people to be able to easily purchase music, but Canonical is getting a high share of the revenue. That's what people are concerned. I don't really care.

cariboo
February 25th, 2011, 01:55 AM
Here's a quote from Jono Bacon's blog:

Thanks again for the call, your participation and understanding is very much appreciated. As discussed, I wanted to follow up with the plan I outlined on the call – and reiterate my apologies and responsibility for a situation that has resulted in the worst outcome for everyone, including putting the Banshee team in an awkward position. As such:
In Ubuntu 11.04, Banshee will have both the AmazonMP3 and Ubuntu One music stores turned on by default.
We will contribute 25% of the revenue from the AmazonMP3 store to the GNOME Foundation.
We will also also start contributing 25% of revenue from the Ubuntu One Music Store on both Banshee and Rhythmbox, to the GNOME Foundation.
Recognizing that it is important to not only bring choice to Ubuntu users, but to also generate revenue to continue our investment in Ubuntu, and to ensure we can contribute effectively to the GNOME Foundation – we believe this plan fairly addresses the interests of all parties.