PDA

View Full Version : Why there are so many known problems not fixed in Ubuntu?

grandixximo
February 25th, 2011, 09:35 AM
I was just wondering, i got Ubuntu last week, first installed the 10.10 for netbook, uninstalled after 2 days because i couldn't delete files from the default file browser, and because it took away too much space on my small screen even tough when i downloaded it it days that the interface was i quote "Designed specifically for the smaller screen", and most of all the interface had little customization.
Then i went on 10.10 for desktop, i finally could customize everything that i wanted, but boy was it a pain in the ***, first of all why the hell evolution does not minimize like empathy does in the wonderful applet for communication that has a mail icon, i have fix this, took me a week since i'm a noob but i did it using the instruction in this thread

http://ubuntu-virginia.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1475703

Then i started playing my favorite TV shows with Totem and i didn't have sound and countless error message where displayed this is a known bug, and can be fixed if you uninstall gstreamer 0.10, did it and it's working.

Other issue white tray icon background, another known issue that is being around for years as i have read, there is a nice fix with modified system files, i'll do it this evening following the instruction here

http://ubuntu-ky.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1427968&page=5

Other issue QQ in empathy maybe many of you do not know this nice messanger, well it looks like it's not working with empathy even tough you can add a QQ account it will never login, at least remove it so that people won't try to get connected for nothing...

Just wondering why so many known bugs and no fixes???

zenwalker
February 25th, 2011, 09:48 AM
Thats why there is an update manager which runs right? I belive its due to the short release span of 6 months.

grandixximo
February 25th, 2011, 10:07 AM