PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 2 Grub boot options

justvano
February 25th, 2011, 04:25 AM
I am very new to linux and Ubuntu. I recently upgraded from Ubuntu 10.04 to 10.10. I have the same black screen problem that many people have had. I have tried a few different solutions that people have offered on this forum and other forums. I won't include all the things I have done because there are too many so I will take any suggestions that people offer.
When I boot into the grub menu there are two different boot options (besides memory test) the first is "ubuntu, with linux 2.6.35-25-generic" and the other is "ubuntu, with linux 2.6.32.28."
My computer specs: Asus F50Sf, Intel Core Two Duo P8700 Processor 2.53GHz, 4GB DDR2 800 RAM, 2 slots, 4GB Max, 320GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM), DVD SuperMulti Drive, 16 Inch HD LCD Display, NVidia GT 220M 1GB DDR2 Video RAM.

Forgive me for being ignorant to your replies like I said I am very new to all of this, please give me step by step instructions. Thank you for all of your help.

zvacet
February 25th, 2011, 02:07 PM
There is nothing wrong with that.You simply have Lucid and Maverick kernel as boot option.It is good to have two kernels in case that latest doesnīt work as it should.If you are sure that you donīt need Lucid kernel go to the synaptic and in search box type linux-image and then remove 2.6.32.28.But you can also live with both kernels.Not really a problem.

oldfred
February 25th, 2011, 05:20 PM
If you are getting the black screen on first boot after install, you need to edit grub to add a nomodeset.

How to set NOMODESET and other kernel boot options in grub2
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1613132
I had to do this with my Nvidia 9600GT:
To install Ubuntu, boot from the cd, press F6 and then select the nomodeset option.
then
On first boot after install, press e on getting the GRUB bootloader.
Hold shift from BIOS boot to get menu if only one system installed.