PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Troublesome wifi

Lloydstedman
February 24th, 2011, 06:42 PM
My wifi has been fine since I installed Ubuntu 10.4 on my Asus 1005p two weeks ago. It's connected all over the place and I live in a place in the middle east where wifi can be 'awkward' and restricted somewhat. I've had no issues.

However, for some reason the wifi will not now connect to the internet or even shake hands with a network at all. Neither to local networks I have used before happily, or to my own Mac created network at home that again has worked blamelessly before now.

The wifi works, it sits on the top taskbar and recognises the networks but will not connect. The connection icon will spin away but never take root on a regular network.

(The only way I can get online is via a USB 3g stick, which is fine, and of course very different.)

Is there a diagnostic tool I can use to find out the wifi issue?
Any idea what has changed as things were fine?
And I'm pretty new to Linux and although i use the terminal happily, I'm a cut and paste man at best.

I've updated software since this happened and rebooted, to no avail.

Ideas appreciated.

Regards, Lloyd

description: Wireless interface
product: AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
logical name: wlan0
version: 01
serial: 1c:4b:d6:82:a9:73
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical wireless
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=ath9k latency=0 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn
resources: irq:17 memory:fbff0000-fbffffff
*-pci:2
description: PCI bridge
product: N10/ICH 7 Family PCI Express Port 4
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 1c.3
bus info: pci@0000:00:1c.3
version: 02
width: 32 bits
capabilities: pci pciexpress msi pm bus_master cap_list
configuration: driver=pcieport