PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu (No current OS or disk drive)

February 23rd, 2011, 04:51 PM
Hi guys,

I'm a total beginner here so sorry if I'm asking a stupid question but I can't seem to figure it out or find any answers anywhere else.

I bought a laptop and the previous owner must have completely wiped the harddrive before I got it (I.E When I turn it on it says "No os installed")

I have no disk drive, so I downloaded the Ubuntu 10.10 ISO and put it on an empty partitioned external harddrive (partitioned a 30gb FAT32 for Ubuntu) and changed the boot order to boot from USB only, but when I try that nothing happens, the screen just says "missing operating system".

Any ideas folks? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Quackers
February 23rd, 2011, 04:57 PM
Did you change the boot order in the bios to USB flash drive, or USB HDD. Check that first.

February 23rd, 2011, 04:59 PM
Hey Quackers, thanks for the reply. Yep, I did that but to no avail.

Quackers
February 23rd, 2011, 05:01 PM
Ok, a couple more questions :-)
Is there a hard drive in the laptop already?
And, how did you put the iso file on to the USB HDD?

February 23rd, 2011, 05:03 PM
There's no harddrive in the laptop at the moment, I took it out and connected it to another netbook to put a copy of Ubuntu on it, and now just booting it from USB.

February 23rd, 2011, 05:04 PM
I have a USB SATA caddy, I just put it into that, btw.

Quackers
February 23rd, 2011, 05:09 PM
Sorry, but I'm not clear on this.
Is the USB HDD that you are trying to boot from, the original HDD from the laptop?

February 23rd, 2011, 05:16 PM
Yep, I guess I should just try sticking it back in the laptop right?...

Quackers
February 23rd, 2011, 05:18 PM
I see no reason for removing it. What can be done from a caddy can be done from inside the laptop.
Does your laptop support booting from usb flash drive? Do you have a 2GB or bigger usb flash drive?

February 23rd, 2011, 05:21 PM