PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ambitious Multi-Desktop-Environment Setup

Dark Owl
February 22nd, 2011, 06:20 PM
Hello people, do you like a challenge? I wonder if I could ask for your advice.

(I apologise in advance if I should have posted this elsewhere).

I’m completely new to Linux (so please keep jargon in your replies to a minimum), although I am currently researching the best options for a duel-boot setup with Windows. My main reason for wanting to try Linux is to get a feel for the different user interfaces that have been designed for desktop PCs. However, to keep bloat to a minimum, I only really want to install one Linux operating system, which I hope can be customised to demonstrate many different user interfaces.

My plan is this (please correct me if I get any descriptions about features or technologies confused!):

I shall await the first stable release of Ubuntu 11 and install it as my Linux distribution of choice. This should allow me to experience the Unity interface and the Compiz Fusion effects right out of the box.
Ubuntu 10 had a ‘Sessions’ menu on the login screen which would allow the user to log into the desktop with varying interfaces. I use this word loosely, because I do not know how customisable a ‘Session’ is. In other words, might I assume that I can create sessions with specific desktop environments, themes, and/or start-up applications? Anyway, I hope that this ‘Sessions’ feature exists similarly in Ubuntu 11.
I then hope to install a KDE 4.6 desktop environment as a separate ‘session’, in much the same way as I know is possible in Ubuntu 10.
I then hope to somehow install the Gnome 3 Shell interface as a third session.
As a fourth session, I would like to prepare a desktop that looks similar to Gnome 2, which may be a direct install, or possibly a stripped-down version of Gnome 3,... although I don’t know if either is possible.