PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] 10.04.2 Won't Upgrade

lou002
February 22nd, 2011, 02:53 AM
So I installed 10.04.2 (is that the recorrecting numbering?)today. Not even an hour ago. I've checked for updates (I'm an ex-Windows user, what can I say?)

I had a couple, installed them then went to check for more. I didn't have any except for the update to 10.10. I know Ubuntu 10.04 is LTS, meaning it'll be good till 2013 but I like to stay current with my OS.

Anyways, I made sure the updates were completely installed, then checked for more. There were none. So I started to update to 10.10 and I got the problem in the photo.

I don't know if I did something wrong or if it's a common error. I'm still new to Linux/Open Source, as I've only started to use it full time now, so it kind of worried me but I knew of this place and posted here.

Since the picture didn't attach, here's a link to it via yfrog: http://yfrog.com/h3zmuqfhj

zvacet
February 22nd, 2011, 11:49 PM
Type in terminal

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

lou002
February 22nd, 2011, 11:54 PM
All of that at once? Alright, I'll give it a try

lou002
February 22nd, 2011, 11:57 PM
Type in terminal

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

lou@lou-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
lou@lou-laptop:~$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.

that's what I get when I do sudo apt-get dist-upgrade.

A friend suggested going back to 10.04.1 (or just 10.04) and doing it that way, otherwise he said just leave it alone since it's LTS. I guess I'll give that a try, I'll mark this as solved. Thanks! i love open source because of places like this.