PDA

View Full Version : [other] upgrading ram in general



flyingsliverfin
February 21st, 2011, 11:03 PM
is it generally ok (in laptops) to mix ram from 2 different companies?
Lets say i have a lenovo t410 with 2gb of their ram, and i want to throw in another 2 gb from kingston, would that be good for the comp?

Maybe this is why i fried astick on my desktop too...

trundlenut
February 21st, 2011, 11:31 PM
I've never had a problem mixing ram but then I haven't tried DDR3.

marin123
February 21st, 2011, 11:37 PM
i dont think you will have any problems. every ram should work the same.
i have mixed different manufacturers and different sizes, and i even had broken ram in my computer and never had physical damage or problems.
i suggest you buy the cheapest ;)

deconstrained
February 21st, 2011, 11:43 PM
You just want to make sure the memory type (DDR2, DDR3) and standard clock speed (800, 1066, 1333 etc) are compatible with your motherboard/bus. Vendor doesn't really matter; memory is memory.

jhun_jhaye
February 22nd, 2011, 12:52 AM
2nd d'motion to deconstrained.:p

cascade9
February 22nd, 2011, 11:11 AM
Generally, mixing RAM speeds and vendors is OK. If you mix speeds, you should be running at the slowest speed. So if you had DDR2-667 and DDR2-1066 sticks you should be running at 667.

The place where you are mostly likely to hit problems is if you have 2 stickings rated to run at different voltages. In that case, you could have stability problems (if you have set the voltage to the lower RAM sticks rated voltage) or possibly damage the RAM (if you are running at the higher sticks rated voltage).