PDA

View Full Version : help me in software developement in C !!!

Praveen30
February 21st, 2011, 02:14 PM
i have knowledge of c language but i haven't made any software kind of thing...i am a student and i have done basic level of programming..now i want to go on next level where i can use my c knowledge to build something interesting...i have an idea..i want to make a software by which i can count how many times my files have been copied on lan by other users..but i don't know know how to start and from where to start..well if this idea seems something complicated then give me some suggestions...waiting for your suggestions because i know a lot of developers are here..so plz guide me....

thanks in advance!!!

Tony Flury
February 21st, 2011, 02:23 PM
Not sure that would be a beginner type project, as you would need (i think) to intercerpt or some how count the number of times the file gets opened and closed, and identify then what is opening and closing the file - and of course not every file open is a copy. On the whole this sounds like a kernel module change.

My suggestion would be - think of something that you do regularly - and see if you can automate it.

For me it was uploading pictures to flickr, and then having to go through the uploaded pictures adding Tags, sets etc - so I wrote a gui which enables me to drag/drop pictures, etc, and add Tags/sets in batches.

Praveen30
February 21st, 2011, 03:43 PM
Not sure that would be a beginner type project, as you would need (i think) to intercerpt or some how count the number of times the file gets opened and closed, and identify then what is opening and closing the file - and of course not every file open is a copy. On the whole this sounds like a kernel module change.

My suggestion would be - think of something that you do regularly - and see if you can automate it.