PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Trying to install packages on 10.10 without access to internet

Vudue Priest
February 21st, 2011, 11:37 AM
Hi, I'm very new to ubuntu and am having issues with package installations. I am trying to install virtualbox 4.0 without the internet. I am currently deployed in afghanistan, so internet access to personal comps is not available. However the computers they have set up for internet access allows me to download the packages. I have read through a number of threads before posting and could not find one that fit the same circumstances. So please be gentle lol. as of right now I have the .deb file saved to my desk top and have toyed in terminal to get this to work. Saddly I just do not know enough to solve this problem. I appreciate all of your help.

Other info you may need:
running on a mactel book pro
ubuntu 10.10 64 installed
file name is: virtualbox-4.0_4.0.4-70112~ubuntu~maveric_amd64.deb
if there is anything else please let me know.

Quackers
February 21st, 2011, 12:41 PM
Copy the .deb file from the computer with internet access to your personal computer (to the Downloads folder maybe) then double-click on the .deb file. What happens?

Vudue Priest
February 21st, 2011, 12:49 PM
After dragging the deb file into the downloads folder i double clicked on the deb file and it mounted it to my desktop. after opening the mounted deb file i have a control.tar.gz package, a data.tar.gz package and a debian-binary file. I really do appreciate you help

Quackers
February 21st, 2011, 12:57 PM
From the terminal try

cd Downloads
sudo dpkg --install file.deb
(where file.deb is changed to the actual deb filename

Vudue Priest
February 21st, 2011, 01:14 PM
From the terminal try

cd Downloads
sudo dpkg --install file.deb
(where file.deb is changed to the actual deb filename
I get this error

Selecting previously deselected package virtualbox-4.0.
(Reading database ... 117839 files and directories currently installed.)