PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to 10.10 boots only in text mode

lonewolf88
February 20th, 2011, 11:54 AM
Hi all,

Upgraded (?) my Toshiba T110 laptop from 10.04 LTS to 10.10 via update manager.

Previously booted on kernel 2.6.32-28 in 10.04; all worked fine.

Now I have the option of 2.6.32-28, or 2.6.35-25, both of which boot only in text mode, ask for my user name and password; finally finishing with prompt "john@jp-laptop:~$"

After some research I tried running at this prompt "startx" which failed; I then tried "sudo aptitude install ubuntu-desktop", which went through a screen of text, then reverted to the prompt as above.

I then tried "startx" again, with no luck.

Bit of a loss what to do next, as I am still fairly new to all of this; can some kind person advise please?

And as usual, Thanks in Advance!

dino99
February 20th, 2011, 12:02 PM
step by step:

into synaptic repo tab: check you only have genuine maverick repo (uncheck if necessary)

sudo rm /var/cache/apt/archives/*
sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f
sudo dpkg --reconfigure -a

then reboot

lonewolf88
February 20th, 2011, 12:22 PM
step by step:

into synaptic repo tab: check you only have genuine maverick repo (uncheck if necessary)

sudo rm /var/cache/apt/archives/*
sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -f
sudo dpkg --reconfigure -a

then reboot

Thanks for prompt reply!

Not sure how to do the first "into synaptic repo tab" bit on the text screen, in fact not sure how to do it all! :(.

Running the first command ".../archives?*" brings up error message "Argument list too long"..

Also tried apt-get update again; an error comes up the the Debian repostory could not be accessed - bad name extension.

Errors when trying "startx" previously, which I should have posted, (my bad, sorry) were :-

(EE) No kernel modesetting driver detected

(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usuable congig.

Fatal server error: No screens found.