PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] installation issues 10.10

Semi_Nerd
February 20th, 2011, 05:30 AM
I'm new to ubuntu. I heard from some friends that it was the way to go, so I decided to try it out. I followed the instructions on the site to the letter. Once the CD had it loaded, I rebooted. It came up w/ the screen asking if I wanted to install or try it first. I hit try it, and after sitting for ten minutes, it came up w/ a totally hashed up version of my current desktop. I tried hitting install, and got the same thing. When this didn't work, I started from scratch, downloading from the website and then rebooting once it was on the disc. I'm currently on win 7, w/ a system I built myself. It's got an x64 3.2 GHz CPU, 1TB HDD w/ 2 partitions, blue-ray drive, 4 GB DDR3. I know it can handle this, so why isn't it working? Any suggestions would be nice...

chessnerd
February 20th, 2011, 06:15 AM
The Ubuntu Try It/Install It screen doesn't work too well in my experience. When the CD first boots up, you should see a little symbol that looks like it says "Human equals Keyboard". When this is up, press any key on the keyboard to go to the original selection menu from the pre-10.04 days. From there choose your language and then choose "Try Ubuntu without Installing" and see if that works better.

Also, and this is just a personal preference, I'd recommend going with 10.04 because it is a more stable release that will be supported until April of 2013. I haven't had great luck with 10.10 and so all of my systems with Ubuntu run 10.04. However, given that you seem to have a pretty new system, 10.10 might offer better hardware support. The choice is yours.

Finally, welcome to Ubuntu Forums. I hope you find your experience with using Ubuntu to be enjoyable.

Semi_Nerd
February 20th, 2011, 07:46 AM
thanks. shortly after posting I downloaded 10.4 and it works great. I'm actually using it to reply. maybe the next version will work better...

chessnerd