PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu needs a new color theme, Orange/Brown is unbearable!

PrimoTurbo
May 2nd, 2006, 06:19 AM
I love Ubuntu, but c’mon you have to be kidding me with the color themes. I don’t claim to be an expert but I have some experience with design and traditional arts. I really don’t see how you can expect people to work with such an environment, they really need to be color blind. Now I know Dapper is moving toward more of an Orange mix (especially with the icons), but this is still not enough. [-(

I say there should be an option during installation or live CD boot which allows you to select an official color theme (including icons, wallpaper, etc), or at least change the color theme so it’s easier on the eyes, like a hue of blue, green or grey. Having choice after is not enough, as new users are discouraged with such an ugly environment.

nanotube
May 2nd, 2006, 06:29 AM
I love Ubuntu, but c’mon you have to be kidding me with the color themes. I don’t claim to be an expert but I have some experience with design and traditional arts. I really don’t see how you can expect people to work with such an environment, they really need to be color blind. Now I know Dapper is moving toward more of an Orange mix (especially with the icons), but this is still not enough. [-(

I say there should be an option during installation or live CD boot which allows you to select an official color theme (including icons, wallpaper, etc), or at least change the color theme so it’s easier on the eyes, like a hue of blue, green or grey. Having choice after is not enough, as new users are discouraged with such an ugly environment.
hey, it all depends on personal taste. i thought the default brown theme on breezy was cool. :)
but yea, anyway, having a choice of several themes upon install is a nice idea.

PrimoTurbo
May 2nd, 2006, 06:33 AM