PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu Over Freespire via USB Drive

Morluna
February 19th, 2011, 01:07 AM
Hi guys,

I'm relatively new to Linux, so when I was given a copy of Freespire I decided to install it on my Windows laptop. After installing Freespire (which works fine, no problems with the OS) I did some reading on several Linux forums and determined that I might be better off running Ubuntu instead. (Should have done this reading before installing anything, I guess...) In any case, I just want to wipe everything on the hard drive, and start over with Ubuntu.

So on a different Windows-based computer, I downloaded Ubuntu 10.10 and created an image file on a USB drive, as directed by the Ubuntu download page.

However, when I plug the USB drive into my now Freespire-based laptop, an icon for the USB drive shows up on my desktop, but I can't figure out how to run the installation. When I click on the icon for the USB drive, I just get lots of directories with files inside... but I can't figure out how to run any installation. I'm thinking maybe this installation method is only set up for Windows? But, I'm not sure and I can't find any information on this specific problem anywhere.

Note: I can't access the Internet via the Freespire laptop, so I have to install via USB or CD. Unless someone can help me with setting up a wireless network in Freespire, but that's a separate issue and, seeing as I want to simply replace the entire OS... not really a problem I want to deal with unless it's the only way to install Ubuntu.

If anyone can shed some light on this problem for a newbie, I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

vacco
February 19th, 2011, 04:25 AM
You have to boot from the USB stick. Just plug it in before you start your computer.

Make sure your BIOS is set to boot from USB before Hard Drive.