PDA

View Full Version : Which Gnome IDE do you recommend?

el3ktro
May 1st, 2006, 11:19 PM
So well I have some basic knowledge about programming, actually did Java a lot (with Eclipse) then played around with KDevelop/QT, but now I switched to Gnome entirely and want to seriously start some coding again. I've already heart about Glade and Anjute - both sound promising. But which IDE would YOU recommend for programming "real" Gnome/GTK2 applications? I definitely want some help creating a GUI, but otherwise I want some more or less plain coding tool, with code snippets, compiler/debuger integration etc.

What are your recommendations?

Tom

lnostdal
May 1st, 2006, 11:33 PM
i'll probably be flamed for being old fashioned or something.. :) .. but for me, it's Emacs all the way .. i even run Emacs as a front-end/interface to servers (under screen actually) .. it's rock solid

stuporglue
May 1st, 2006, 11:39 PM
I'm almost with you Inostadal. I use vim (in screen) for all my coding, since most my stuff is just CLI programs.

I've only done GUI stuff on my Mac, but being able to drag-and-drop UI elements into place, and not have to hand write the code for it is such a great thing. I've been meaning to find a good IDE for Ubuntu/Linux, and am watching this thread for some good suggestions.

el3ktro
May 1st, 2006, 11:43 PM
Um I know about emacs of course, but I'm more into vim for bash scripting. Well for such things vim/emacs or any CLI editor is just fine, but for "serious" programming of GUI apps, I also ant to have a nice graphical IDE. What do you guys think about Anjuta?

Tom

auroraborealis
May 3rd, 2006, 03:31 AM
Eclipse has C/C++ plugins.

lnostdal
May 3rd, 2006, 03:48 AM
Um I know about emacs of course, but I'm more into vim for bash scripting. Well for such things vim/emacs or any CLI editor is just fine, but for "serious" programming of GUI apps, I also ant to have a nice graphical IDE. What do you guys think about Anjuta?

Tom