PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Select web pages will not open



Pharnavaziani
February 17th, 2011, 03:12 PM
Hey,

I recently started dual-booting Lucid Lynx on my laptop with Windows 7 and use Lynx as my primary and default OS. I noticed recently that I could not open some web pages (for an example, the comic SMBC (http://www.smbc-comics.com/) does not open) and reported that they timed out. Using other computers, I've verified that the problem is not with the sites but with my computer, and Windows 7 had no problem with these sites. I use both Google Chrome and Firefox and neither is capable of opening the sites, which is a problem because some of the sites are academic and therefore important. I looked up this problem but couldn't seem to find anything....anyone know what's going on?

My computer has 2 GB of RAM and a Core 2 Duo processor.

Frogs Hair
February 17th, 2011, 03:28 PM
I am able to connect and play video on the link with Firefox and Opera using 10.10. The only things that come to mind are missing plug -ins (flash) , add-ons problems caused No Script or Adblock type extensions .

Pharnavaziani
February 17th, 2011, 03:29 PM
Could it be a problem with 10.04, then?

The link does not work on my computer and has consistently failed to work. Any suggestions on why?

Frogs Hair
February 17th, 2011, 03:35 PM
In Firefox you could look at Tools > Error Console and see if there are related errors . That may give you a starting point.

Pharnavaziani
February 17th, 2011, 03:58 PM
The error console tells me nothing is wrong with the example page.

Frogs Hair
February 17th, 2011, 04:30 PM
When connecting to the site with Windows are you using are you using Firefox and Chrome also ?

I came across a post that indicated it could be ISP related and if you using FF or Chrome on Windows this would be ruled out.

The other suggestions included checking router . firewall , network , and Ipv settings.

Pharnavaziani
February 17th, 2011, 04:33 PM
Yes, I use FF and Chrome for Windows as well - mainly FF. Thanks for the help :)

Is there a simple way to check the .firewall and other settings?

Frogs Hair
February 17th, 2011, 04:54 PM
For the firewall gui I use gfw in the software center , it has simple settings , enable , allow outgoing and deny incoming. It will appear on the administration menu when installed.

Network info can be located on system menu and if using a router you will have to find that on your own . I am on a network , but the router settings are contolled by another user and settings vary depending on brand.

Another thread suggested cleaning the cache in both browsers may help. Welcome to forums BTW.

pqwoerituytrueiwoq
February 17th, 2011, 05:01 PM
Site works fine for me
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:2.0b12pre) Gecko/20110217 Firefox/4.0b12pre ID:20110217030357
Ubuntu 10.04.2 LTS
see if you can ping the site

Pharnavaziani
February 28th, 2011, 06:39 PM
I don't know how to see if I'm pinging the sites.
Ubuntu 10.04 on an HP G71-340US Notebook. The pages do not open regardless of my connection or speed; and they do not open on either Firefox or Chrome.
I'm concerned - while this is only a webcomic, I've also been unable to access academic pages that are important - and would like to know if there are any explanations that come to mind.

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 07:20 PM
There was a post that was put up here a while ago and the issue turned out to be many many dropped packets due to a faulty driver.

Please run the following commands in terminal and post results.

ping -c 10 google.com
ping -c 10 <website that has problems>
lspci
cat /etc/network/interfaces
ifconfig

Pharnavaziani
February 28th, 2011, 07:27 PM
There was a post that was put up here a while ago and the issue turned out to be many many dropped packets due to a faulty driver.

Please run the following commands in terminal and post results.

ping -c 10 google.com
ping -c 10 <website that has problems>
lspci
cat /etc/network/interfaces
ifconfig


Ok. I ran the code and got the following results:


p { margin-bottom: 0.08in; } :~$ ping -c 10 google.com
PING google.com (74.125.226.114) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=1 ttl=49 time=11.4 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=2 ttl=49 time=10.6 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=3 ttl=49 time=19.0 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=4 ttl=49 time=10.4 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=5 ttl=49 time=10.7 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=6 ttl=49 time=10.3 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=7 ttl=49 time=10.6 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=8 ttl=49 time=10.4 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=9 ttl=49 time=10.3 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=10 ttl=49 time=10.3 ms

--- google.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 received, 0% packet loss, time 45181ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 10.303/11.452/19.076/2.563 ms
matteo@matteo-laptop:~$ ping -c 10 smbc.com
PING smbc.com (209.61.212.130) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- smbc.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 9070ms

lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Thermal Subsystem (rev 03)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation WiFi Link 1000 Series
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
matteo@matteo-laptop:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr c8:0a:a9:2a:4d:78
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:26

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:17620 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:17620 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3152317 (3.1 MB) TX bytes:3152317 (3.1 MB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:c7:0f:0a:b2
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::226:c7ff:fe0f:ab2/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:82922 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:54393 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:113667224 (113.6 MB) TX bytes:5996471 (5.9 MB)

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 07:40 PM
smbc.com does not respond to ping and redirect to some bodybuilding site in web browser on my end however since google.com is responding well with no loss I think you may possibly have the wrong URL and that your network is functioning properly. Try another URL with ping -c 10

vivek.pandey
February 28th, 2011, 07:45 PM
well smbc.com is not a wrong url it pings when i try here

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 07:56 PM
well smbc.com is not a wrong url it pings when i try here

The OP said something about some comics being at smbc.com but that isn't the case, at least not from my perspective. Also network-tools.com is failing to tracert and ping the site as well. Maybe they are dropping ping packets from certain IP ranges?

Pharnavaziani
February 28th, 2011, 07:58 PM
You're right, it's my bad. It should be smbc-comics.com, which still does not load.

Pharnavaziani
February 28th, 2011, 07:59 PM
The response for smbc-comics.com ping -c is "bad number of packets to transmit".

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 08:28 PM
ping -c 10 smbc-comics.com
Try again ^^

Pharnavaziani
February 28th, 2011, 08:39 PM
I get

--- smbc-comics.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 received, 0% packet loss, time 45255ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 18.182/20.499/31.584/3.774 ms
~$

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 09:47 PM
I think you are having a DNS problem because your wireless adapter seems to be well supported by Ubuntu and the rest of the stuff seems to check out.

Try editing your /etc/resolv.conf to have nameserver set to 4.2.2.5 and 4.2.2.6

FYI You can put nameserver down multiple times

jeannot_unbu
February 28th, 2011, 09:57 PM
Sorry to barge in like this, but I am having the same problem (with different websites - see my last post). I will be following this one too to see if a solution appears. BTW I use Firefox, Google Chromium and another web browser (can't remember the name now), and they all have the same problem, though with different sites.
JC

TechWiz2100
February 28th, 2011, 10:16 PM
Sorry to barge in like this, but I am having the same problem (with different websites - see my last post). I will be following this one too to see if a solution appears. BTW I use Firefox, Google Chromium and another web browser (can't remember the name now), and they all have the same problem, though with different sites.
JC

Please elaborate: By different sites do you mean other than smbc-comic.com or different sites for each browser?
Post the results of the commands I listed off for the OP as well and we can help you too.

Thanks

jeannot_unbu
February 28th, 2011, 10:46 PM
Please elaborate: By different sites do you mean other than smbc-comic.com or different sites for each browser?
Post the results of the commands I listed off for the OP as well and we can help you too.

Thanks
Thanks TechWiz, I will. I am waiting to receive an ethernet cable to go wired first and see what happens. From what I have read so far, and replies I have received from this forum it may be a problem with my wireless card. But don't worry I will get back to you with whatever the outcome. Thanks for the offer :biggrin:

JC

Pharnavaziani
March 1st, 2011, 01:06 AM
I'm not the owner of resolv.conf...how do I change permissions/overwrite?

TechWiz2100
March 1st, 2011, 01:07 AM
I'm not the owner of resolv.conf...how do I change permissions/overwrite?



gksudo gedit /etc/resolv.conf

Pharnavaziani
March 1st, 2011, 01:12 AM
I've replaced the resolv.conf and the fix does not work. The ping still reads the same message and the site does not load.

Pharnavaziani
March 1st, 2011, 08:03 PM
Any ideas on reasons why certain pages would have this problem? I have similar issues on a seemingly random distribution of pages, from academic GIS pages to some news stories.

TechWiz2100
March 1st, 2011, 09:28 PM
Inability to get certain pages is usually a combination of lag and DNS lookup issues. *Usually* its solved via restarting router/modem, computer or simply the connection at times.

I made the assumption you tried all of the above already but if you haven't please do. I know there is a way to get a record of DNS lookups and their respective errors in linux but I forget the log name and command (daemon.log?)

Maybe someone with a little more unix networking experience can help.

Pharnavaziani
March 1st, 2011, 11:54 PM
Yes, I did. It still says "bad number of packets" and won't load.

I can't see how it's the router, as everything was fine before I made the transition to linux.

Pharnavaziani
March 2nd, 2011, 01:32 AM
Changing networks and even changing the input (wireless to wired) was unsuccessful. I doubt it's a lag issue with the wired connection, as the wired internet where I am is extremely fast. Changing browsers was not useful and ping -c with different networks and with wired only did not change the result of "bad number of packets to transmit". Googling this problem hasn't helped much, either.

Additionally, the number of websites that will not load is increasing, this time to my primary academic page. I'm now getting really concerned as this problem has gone from a nuisance to a threat to my ability to use Ubuntu.

Pharnavaziani
March 2nd, 2011, 01:42 AM
I repeated the experiment I was advised to do earlier, this time with a more important site.



~$ ping -c 10 google.com
PING google.com (74.125.226.114) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=2 ttl=50 time=9.55 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=3 ttl=50 time=9.24 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=4 ttl=50 time=9.36 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=5 ttl=50 time=9.91 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=6 ttl=50 time=9.50 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=7 ttl=50 time=9.51 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=8 ttl=50 time=12.0 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=9 ttl=50 time=9.24 ms
64 bytes from 74.125.226.114: icmp_seq=10 ttl=50 time=9.17 ms

--- google.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 9 received, 10% packet loss, time 41286ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 9.178/9.732/12.071/0.859 ms

~$ ping -c 10 thehub.hampshire.edu
PING erebus.hampshire.edu (192.33.12.112) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- erebus.hampshire.edu ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 9071ms

~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) Thermal Subsystem (rev 03)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation WiFi Link 1000 Series
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr c8:0a:a9:2a:4d:78
inet addr:172.30.149.162 Bcast:172.30.151.255 Mask:255.255.248.0
inet6 addr: fe80::ca0a:a9ff:fe2a:4d78/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6391 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1094 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1296022 (1.2 MB) TX bytes:202018 (202.0 KB)
Interrupt:26 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:103365 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:103365 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:8833866 (8.8 MB) TX bytes:8833866 (8.8 MB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:c7:0f:0a:b2
inet6 addr: fe80::226:c7ff:fe0f:ab2/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1030181 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:550045 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1171947643 (1.1 GB) TX bytes:59400013 (59.4 MB)
~$

TechWiz2100
March 2nd, 2011, 02:56 AM
You are getting a bad packet number error because syntax for ping -c is


ping -c <number of packets> <target>
e.g
ping -c 10 google.com


And restarting the router clears the router's DNS cache because a query to cache is faster than an actual DNS query so many routers/modems and sometimes even OS's cache DNS requests to save time. The problem is that sometimes the results are too old and are not refreshed right away so you get timeouts and 404's where you should not. Ubuntu however does not cache by default so flush-cache does not exist for Ubuntu unless its been set to cache DNS.

TechWiz2100
March 2nd, 2011, 03:09 AM
Is fresh install or LiveCD out of the question? I'm thinking you have a bad install at this point because none of the common network troubleshooting methods are working. If LiveCD gets flawless internet access then you need to do something about your install. Also I've read somewhere (I don't remember what the issue was) that disabling IPv6 on your network connections solved someone's networking issue; try that.

pauleralivre
June 23rd, 2011, 11:38 PM
Hi, I also have problem accesing some websites using firefox or chrome under ubuntu 11. This doesn't happen in the same machine and same connection when I run Windows Vista.
Some web sites, like the newspaper El Pais (elpais.com), open occasionally. Others, like Hotmail, never open!
I've checked the IPv6 and it was already set up as "ignore".

Would really appreciate some help!

paulinho@Toshiba:~$ ping -c 10 google.com
PING google.com (209.85.148.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=1 ttl=54 time=76.6 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=2 ttl=53 time=80.7 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=3 ttl=54 time=77.8 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=4 ttl=53 time=74.2 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=5 ttl=53 time=74.7 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=6 ttl=54 time=74.8 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=7 ttl=54 time=75.1 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=8 ttl=53 time=75.6 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=9 ttl=54 time=76.6 ms
64 bytes from google.com (209.85.148.104): icmp_req=10 ttl=54 time=75.7 ms

--- google.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 received, 0% packet loss, time 9012ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 74.269/76.228/80.725/1.822 ms
paulinho@Toshiba:~$ ping -c 10 hotmail.com
PING hotmail.com (65.55.72.135) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=1 ttl=240 time=183 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=2 ttl=240 time=182 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=3 ttl=240 time=182 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=4 ttl=240 time=181 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=5 ttl=240 time=182 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=6 ttl=240 time=183 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=7 ttl=240 time=182 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=8 ttl=240 time=183 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=9 ttl=240 time=182 ms
64 bytes from hotmail.com (65.55.72.135): icmp_req=10 ttl=240 time=181 ms

--- hotmail.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 10 received, 0% packet loss, time 9011ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 181.462/182.547/183.539/0.714 ms
paulinho@Toshiba:~$ ping -c 10 elpais.com
PING elpais.com (194.169.201.203) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- elpais.com ping statistics ---
10 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 8999ms

paulinho@Toshiba:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary) (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR5001 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
0c:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
0c:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
0c:04.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
0c:04.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller
paulinho@Toshiba:~$ cat /etc/network/interfaces
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

paulinho@Toshiba:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet Endereço de HW 00:1b:38:b3:7b:c2
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Métrica:1
pacotes RX:0 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
Pacotes TX:0 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
colisões:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
IRQ:45 Endereço de E/S:0x4000

lo Link encap:Loopback Local
inet end.: 127.0.0.1 Masc:255.0.0.0
endereço inet6: ::1/128 Escopo:Máquina
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Métrica:1
pacotes RX:952 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
Pacotes TX:952 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
colisões:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:38580 (38.5 KB) TX bytes:38580 (38.5 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet Endereço de HW 00:1b:9e:8e:c4:97
inet end.: 192.168.2.100 Bcast:192.168.2.255 Masc:255.255.255.0
endereço inet6: fe80::21b:9eff:fe8e:c497/64 Escopo:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Métrica:1
pacotes RX:82261 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 quadro:0
Pacotes TX:68207 erros:0 descartados:0 excesso:0 portadora:0
colisões:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:77381176 (77.3 MB) TX bytes:12958202 (12.9 MB)

prat22
August 25th, 2011, 11:28 PM
Now, I am having the same problem. Sites like ubuntuforums, piratebay, yahoo doesnt load with either Firefox 6 or Chrome (On 10.10).

Someone told me to change the MTU from automatic to some random value. Didnt help!

Now, I am using a proxy site in firefox, and ubuntuforums are loaded! So, proxy is the key, I guess.

But my question is, How do I set proxy server in firefox to automatically use those settings? A real example would be of greater help.

By the way, Plz rule out any addons (proxyfoxy, etc) since addons.mozilla doesnt load either!gl

prat22
August 29th, 2011, 06:41 PM
Got it working! Thanks to mail.prabal (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=874812)!Go to terminal, and

sudo -i
#ifconfig eth0 mtu 1400
#ifconfig ppp0 mtu 1400
#gedit /etc/network/if-up.d/mtu


Add the following lines:

#! /bin/sh
ifconfig ppp0 mtu 1412

Save and exit.

Make it executable by



sudo chmod 755 /etc/network/if-up.d/mtu


Exit, and restart!