PDA

View Full Version : Tips for offering good help on the forums...

aysiu
May 1st, 2006, 08:44 PM
Disclaimer: These tips are what you should do ideally. I'm not saying I always follow my own advice; though, I do try to.

Make appropriate assumptions
If someone's posting in the Absolute Beginner section, don't assume she knows where "the terminal" is. Worse yet, don't just post code without saying "copy and paste this into the terminal."

Likewise, you shouldn't assume that everyone is using Gnome.
gksudo gedit will just turn up
bash: command not found for KDE users, a growing contingent on these forums.

I think it's reasonable to assume the opposite, however. I always assume anyone posting in the development release section (currently, that's Dapper) knows where the terminal is. Dapper's a lot stabler now than it was a few months ago, but I still would not recommend it to absolute beginners.

It's okay to post links
If a question is frequently asked, don't burn yourself out by typing out long explanations every time. You're still helping by posting a link (as long as the link is appropriate). However, if the person asking for help tries the instructions in the link you post and still has problems, try to follow up with her and get her through any anomalies that might crop up.

Read the first post... really read it
I'm guilty of this a lot myself. You see a subject heading like "How do I use MS Word?" and you immediately think, "Duh! Just use OpenOffice, Stupid." But in the first post, the person asking for help says she's already tried OpenOffice and it's missing X feature or messes up the formatting of documents she's sharing with friends and family.

Allow for special cases. Yes, most of the time people ask the same questions over and over again, but sometimes there are quirky situations that you should look out for.

Encourage--don't scold
People who frequent these forums see vague posts all the time: