PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A Windows Question *GASP* Sorry

Stop Being Such a TOONA
February 16th, 2011, 04:57 PM
Sorry about asking a Windows question on here but I don't really know where else to turn. I can't find a reliable answer anywhere.

So yesterday my boss got the error windows/system32/config/system is missing or corrupt on startup. He runs xp and I have no experience troubleshooting problems in xp (only vista... the reason I know run ubuntu). He doesn't have the setup cd so I downloaded the recovery console .iso online and burned it to a disk. IT FREAKIN BLUE SCREENS. I tried two different .isos and tried running them on a flash and a cd and same thing... blue screen.

I'm backing up his computer right now using a 10.10 live boot but I still have no idea what's wrong or how to fix it. I can't do anything with windows since recovery console blue screens... Any ideas? I have a bad feeling it's something to do with the hardware but I'm really not sure.

HeavyDC223
February 16th, 2011, 05:15 PM
About the only thing to do with windows in this case is to reformat and do a clean install, if you don't have the Windows XP CD, the PC manufacturer (Dell, HP, Lenovo, etc.) should have either sent a set of recovery discs, or have a recovery option on boot-up, hold F2, Del, or some other key, and you might be able to get into some sort of system restore mode that way.

Often when a machine blue screens like this, it can be bad RAM, but if Ubuntu's running fine, then that may not be it. First thing would be to get hold of either an original XP disc and do a repair or wipe and clean install, if you can't do that, then there may be some other restore system in the boot menu. On my Lenovo laptop, there's a ThinkVantage button that interrupts bootup after POST and allows entry into BIOS or a special recovery menu, there may be a similar option on your machine, without knowing the manufacturer, I couldn't say for sure.

HermanAB
February 16th, 2011, 05:21 PM
Howdy,