PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Removed old kernel - Shows no kernel in boot menu

bipin.nag
February 16th, 2011, 01:49 AM
I was using ubuntu 10.04 (dual boot with win 7) and i had several kernel versions installed from updates (6 to be exact). I decided to remove last 4 versions from synaptic manager. But on restarting ubuntu does NOT boot - doesn't show any kernel or kernel rescue option from boot menu, just an option for win 7 loader.

On advance menu it shows grub command line :(:sad::sad:
I have no experience of using grub command line and all my data is locked within ubuntu disk, I cannot access it from Windows 7.

PLEASE HELP ME :x
I won't try anything smart with kernel ever again

file:///C:/Users/bipin/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot.png

PaulReaver
February 16th, 2011, 01:59 AM
I know for a fact it is possible to restore this :)

you'll need to boot into a ubuntu live cd
"chroot" into your hard disk and install a kernel. then reinstall grub on the hard disk....

PaulReaver
February 16th, 2011, 02:12 AM
boot into an ubuntu live cd.

important double check where your ubuntu / partition is (IT WON'T BE SDA1 IF YOU INSTALLED WINDOWS FIRST) change * for partition number.... 'disk utility' is useful for this..... system/administration/disk utility... NTFS partitions will be windows

sudo mkdir /mnt/temp
sudo mount /dev/sda* /mnt/temp
sudo chroot /mnt/temp

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install linux
sudo update-grub

exit

sudo shutdown -r now.

and i think this should maybe just about fix your ubuntu install....not 100% sure though.....

bipin.nag
February 16th, 2011, 01:28 PM
Thanks for replying
I did manage to boot,I followed your instructions and reinstalled the kernel version
But there is slight problem in that
On update-grub there is no new kernel entry in the grub.cfg file
Is it normal ? because it was blank (except for win 7 loader entry) before reinstalling the kernel on live session which I suppose is causing the problem.