PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unusable Partition

BillT506
February 15th, 2011, 05:35 PM
Hi, I'm installing Ubuntu on my latop as a dual-boot with Windows 7. I shrunk my C drive's volume by 20GB to use for Ubuntu, but when I boot from my CD and get to the stage where I choose the partition to use, the "Free Space" partition that I made is unusable. There's probably some super-easy way to fix this, but I'm completely new to this, so help would be very appreciated.

coffeecat
February 15th, 2011, 06:17 PM
Almost certainly, the laptop manufacturer has set up 4 primary partitions, the maximum number allowed with a mbr partition table however much free space you have. It's not an HP, is it?

Boot up the live CD and choose 'try Ubuntu' to get to the live desktop. Post a screenshot of System > Administration > Gparted so that we can see the partition layout. You can use Print/SysReq to get a screenshot, or Alt+Print/SysReq for a shot of an active window. Or Applications > Accessories > Take Screenshot if the keyboard shortcuts don't work for you. Also, open a terminal (Applications > Accessories) and post the output of:

sudo fdisk -lu

They both say the same but in different ways but it will be useful to see both.

BillT506
February 15th, 2011, 07:12 PM
Yep, it's HP. Gonna do that now.

Okay, the Terminal command give me this:

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x48764ce4

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 2048 409599 203776 7 HPFS/NTFS
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 409600 554328063 276959232 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3 596271104 624928767 14328832 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda4 624928768 625140399 105816 c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
Here's the screenshot:
http://i52.tinypic.com/vh3ps5.png

coffeecat