PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No root file system is defined

Oathanvil
February 15th, 2011, 01:00 AM
I am a new user to Ubuntu I think my last attempt was back in around 2008 on UBUNTU ver 10.4. I am a Windows tech that needs to learn Ubuntu for my own peace of mind and credentials.

I just copied my ISO download version of Ubuntu 10.10 to DVD using Imgburn great program I just used that yesterday to create my MSDN Full version of Windows7 Ultimate 64 bit version, and install that to a new RAID0 on 1 Tera of drive space.

First thing I did being a Windows user was to shrink 1024x10 = 102400 of drive space so I had a 100 gig partition to install Ubuntu 10.10 to in dual boot mode.

I got along fine it never asked me for raid drivers at that point I started to get worried and shortly after it would not let me install to the 100 gig partition I created.

ERROR CODE: No root file system is defined

Being a new user from windows I presumed this to mean it has no raid driver to build on or possibly no Drive letter to work with or both.

I read forums all day long and have the perception that I need now a drive root C:\ and in Ubuntu that is a backslash to signify C so a "\" and also intrigued I read on to find that it also likes to have a second partition for what is called Home? I can only make a guess that this is not root C: or "\" but where my active files might later be used in a swap file space? I forget the identifier required for the home partition.

So since I failed so terribly even following the Ubuntu installation instructions to the letter.... I decided to back off being a tech and use the .exe right from the DVD at the Windows7 desktop and there you go.
I get a dual boot option to boot to Windows7 or Ubuntu I was very elated I could no w get into playing with the new operating system and code.
Well BOO guess what it starts to load the Ubuntu UI or desktop and halts on the same message "No root file system is defined"