PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu setup problems in every aspect!!

chaitanya_lu
February 14th, 2011, 08:07 AM
First of all, I am an absolute beginner in world of Ubuntu. I have no idea about command terminal, etc. But I am good at Windows.

My problems begin with the setup itself.

1) I have three partitions on my hard disk. All NTFS. One contains the Windows 7 and other contains the Recovery data. Third partition is a 99mb partition which contains some BIOS data therefore it is of no use. I fear that repartitioning the partition with recovery data (and also my other data) will not allow me to use the option again. I installed Ubuntu 9.04 inside windows from the Live CD therefore.

2) When I boot into Ubuntu, it does not detect or show the second partition(with recovery data) at all as if it doesn't exist. I therefore cannot access the data.

3) I have been unable to connect via WiFi. It seems that the drivers for my WiFi adapter are absent. I cannot connect to the internet in any other way.

4) Ubuntu runs in the lowest graphic mode despite the fact that my laptop has a switchable graphics option (Intel Media Accelerator HD and the ATI Radeon 5650 1Gb).

Intel i3 370M @ 2.4Ghz
3Gb DDR3 RAM
Ati Radeon 5650
Atheros Wifi with bluetooth
500gb HDD
I guess that is more than enough to run any OS.

Expecting a quick response. I really want to use Ubuntu with all the capabilities.

mörgæs
February 15th, 2011, 06:48 AM
Hi, welcome to the fora.

Ubuntu 9.04 is obsolete, so let's not spend time on this one. How does Ubuntu 10.04 and/or 10.10 run in a live boot?

Rubi1200
February 15th, 2011, 09:08 AM
When you say "inside Windows" do you mean with Wubi?

chaitanya_lu
February 16th, 2011, 06:21 AM
Hi!!

I have problems with the setup of ubuntu and also with the drivers.

I have Ubuntu 9.04 Live CD. I installed Ubuntu inside Windows so that I could get a good feel before I make partitions for it.