PDA

View Full Version : Making a GUI apt front-end

wrix
February 12th, 2011, 05:36 PM
Hi, I was wondering to write a GUI front-end to Apt, like Synaptic, just to gain knowledge. I have some working knowledge of Tcl, Bash and bit of C. But I am unable to find any resources for my reference, please help.

MadCow108
February 12th, 2011, 06:35 PM
bash and C are not very well suited for gui programming. Don't know how good tcl is but I guess you should probably also learn a language which supports object orientation directly (e.g. python, C++, Vala, ...).

here are python bindings to apt
http://apt.alioth.debian.org/python-apt-doc/
(includes python to c++ bindings)

llanitedave
February 12th, 2011, 07:32 PM
I don't have any direct experience with tcl, but from what I've read it should work. It is integrated with tk, which has a GUI development capability built-in.

And Python also uses tcl/tk bindings to produce it's default GUI package, TKinter.

Python should be able to produce a Synaptic-like application relatively easily.

scott_tiger
February 12th, 2011, 07:37 PM
Java will be prefered to create GUI apps

cariboo
February 12th, 2011, 08:19 PM
Have a look at Quickly, it is a combination of perl and glade, quickly is in the repositories.

nvteighen
February 12th, 2011, 09:49 PM
You have two problems here:

1) You need a language that can interact with libapt.
2) And *then* you need a language that has a GUI library.

Python can be a good choice here and, IMO, the best choice. But no matter if best or not, it's definitely a good one :) It has libapt bindings and writing GUIs in it is quite easier than in other environments (either using a GUI designer or by hand). Also, being a dynamic language saves you from a lot of hassle that you have to do in other languages... at the cost of performance, as usual, but that can be ignored in this case.