PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] /boot is full

Gildarrious
February 12th, 2011, 01:11 AM
Hello all, I have been running ubuntu for around 3 years, picked up some commands here and there, just using it as a side project server/desktop editions. I seem to have trouble updating Ubuntu 1.04 LTS '2.6.32-25' at all, I keep getting the error that /boot is full. When I installed this system I gave it 100MB as it was only used for kernals which are very small files. I have removed the old kernals that I am no longer using apt-get remove... and seem to have freed 0mb of space even upon removing all but the one I am currently using. df-h gives me this:
/dev/sda1 92M 79M 7.8M 92% /boot

however while looking in the file structure itself of /boot I get this:

194 items, totalling 17.8 MB
(some contents unreadable)

Would those "unreadable" contents add up to that many MB of space?
If so how can I remove these contents that I can neither see or access as Superuser.

oldfred
February 12th, 2011, 08:02 PM
Did you empty trash?

Since it is a separate partition does it have its own (hidden) trash folder?

Gildarrious
February 12th, 2011, 08:32 PM
I believe I have, temp is empty within the directory, and I have run various "cleaners". Is there a specific command that would let me see those hidden files if they are trash?

oldfred
February 12th, 2011, 08:40 PM
I have this in my notes for root. I do not know if then a separate /boot has it in root or boot?

/root/.local/share/Trash System Trash (hardy and later)

Gresley
March 15th, 2011, 11:07 PM
I have the exact same problem, but got into the mess in a slightly different way. Having realised /boot was full I used a live cd to boot the machine, mounted /boot and used sudo nautilus to browse and delete the unwanted kernel files. Though I know I've deleted 75mb of unused files out of a 100mb partition it still shows up as 100% full.