PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Login on ubuntu 10.10 problem

fgking
February 10th, 2011, 11:41 AM
I spend a huge amount of time to get ubuntu 10.10 installed after many crashes with error 5. I have burnt many CDs and downloaded many images. Finally I took the advice of someone in one of the forums who suggested that if you have dual memory chips in the pc, remove one and install. I have tried that with alternative CD using vga=771 at prompt. At last the installation was completed without a crash. To my surprise when I rebooted and tried to login my password was declined. I am absolutly sure it was the correct password. I was even more surprised when I was able to login on the terminal both as a user and supervisor but not on the desktop login. Could somebody please help me how to get to the desktop with menus etc. I am new to all this. Many thanks

P4man
February 10th, 2011, 11:54 AM
both username and password are CaSE SEnSitiVE. Make sure you dont make a mistake in the capitalization, check that shift lock isnt on etc. Also, and especially if you have a non qwerty keyboard, perhaps your didnt configure it properly. In the login screen, click your name, then check at the bottom that the correct keyboard layout is selected.

Also, rather than clicking your name, try clicking "other" and see if you can type the password in the username box, just to verify the keyboard is working properly.

If none of that helps, its not hard to change your password. Reboot and select the ubuntu recovery option in grub menu (if you dont see gub menu, hold down the shift key after the bios splash). Select the root terminal.

Then type in:

passwd yourusername

BTW, Im not sure what you mean by being able to log in to a terminal as both regular user and superuser? You shouldnt be able to login as root, as the account ought to be disabled with an unknown password. You use "sudo" to elevate your own user account to root, but you still log in with your normal user.

fgking