PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Webcam not running well (low FPS) on Ubuntu.

Milorandom123
February 8th, 2011, 01:35 PM
Hi, I'm relatively new to Ubuntu, and am currently just setting it up so that it can preform just as well as my Windows install (I'm dual booting Vista & Ubuntu), currently trying to get my webcam to work and trying to get it to record well.

Webcam: Logitech Quickcam s5500

Software used: Cheese Webcam Booth (Standard webcam software for Ubuntu?)

So as soon as I plugged in my webcam and ran cheese it found the webcam and got the picture, no problems so far;

1. However, when trying to record on acceptable quality settings the FPS dropped massively to less than 1 FPS. When I run it in the lowest possible quality 160x120 the video recording works fine. The effects are all turned off. On my windows I can get a lot higher quality than is even possible with this software, and it runs perfectly.

2. There is no sound whatsoever. This Logitech Webcam does have a build in microphone, which is fully operational when running it on Windows.

-Of course on windows I am running the software that is specifically designed for this very webcam.
-The webcam has, I believe it's called, a shutter, you can move this over the lens to block the image, and the webcam does actually (on Windows) read the location of the shutter and it'll run some code when the shutter is on to create a new 'image' (like a background), obviously the shutter is not on, but it could possibly be that the software isn't operating right and is blocking some of the functionality.(?)

Milorandom123
February 14th, 2011, 06:50 PM
Bumped.

fugalaya
April 3rd, 2011, 03:40 AM
I would like an answer to this as well. The webcam on my Dell Vostro V13 is nearly unusable. Other than that Ubuntu 10.10 runs great on it.

Thanks.

no2498
April 3rd, 2011, 03:41 PM
this comes from the cheese help FAQ'S

The video is sluggish/has a slow response. What can I do?