PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Deployment on school netbooks.

chrismyers
February 7th, 2011, 09:33 PM
Hi there guys & gals,

I'm a school admin & I'm looking to deploy Ubuntu on Asus eepc netbooks within my school as the current xp home option is sadly lacking.

I have a number of problems that I need to overcome:

Force netbook to connect to wireless, pre-login - Done via the "Available to all users" option in NetworkManager.

Join Ubuntu to domain for authentication - Done via installing & configuring likewise-open.

Allow users to log in without prepending the domain (eg domianname\username), as users won't be able to cope with this - Not done & assistance needed.

Automatically mount the current users Windows network folder upon login. The home folder could possibly be obtained by querying the Active Directory z:\ drive location. - Not done & assistance needed.

I would appreciate assistance very much & I consider that introducing Linux to schools is a very important project.

I have to work at introducing Ubuntu in a windows world. Please don't "help" by saying "Get rid of Windows".

Many thanks,

Chris. :p

chrismyers
February 7th, 2011, 10:04 PM
I think I found one fix myself for prepending the domain to ease the login for users.

I think I need to add:

winbind use default domain = yes

to either /etc/samba/smb.conf or maybe /etc/samba/lwiauthd.conf

I need to test.

I still need assistance with mounting Windows network home folders (My Documents).

m47h3us
February 16th, 2011, 01:19 PM
Allow users to log in without prepending the domain (eg domianname\username), as users won't be able to cope with this

You can use Likewise-open 6 which has the opinion to enable default user name prefix and enter your domain prefix in.

grahammechanical
February 16th, 2011, 04:56 PM