PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] grub problems with fresh ubuntu-only install

ben178
February 7th, 2011, 05:40 PM
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to Ubuntu (only Win yet).

In short: I tried to install Maverick on a new Notebook, re-installed a few times thinking I used wrong settings as booting from the hard disk didn't work.
Now I only get

file not found
grub rescueAll the other threads I came across seemed to only deal with grub problems connected to dual boot installations.

Now, the complete story is:
As I had to replace my old notebook, I decided to try Ubuntu on the new one. I got an Asus X52F-EX513D with only a freeDOS installation on it.
Booting Maverick from CD went fine.
I made a copy of everything that was on the disk (was surprised something was there, guess that was the freeDOS and stuff Ubuntu saved there. wanted to be sure not to delete drivers).
I used the included tools to format the hard disk and installed Ubuntu. I guess I messed up with assigning the partitions, as I'm new to the OS. As booting from hard disk didn't work, I thought I'd simply reinstall, and actually I thought this a couple of times...:rolleyes:
Booting from hard disk never worked, now I only get

file not found
grub rescueI tried
startxfrom there, as I had found in a forum that that should start the OS, but it seemed to just stop somewhere halfway. When I then used the power button to shut down, the purple shutdown screen appeared before it went off.

I hope you can help me, I thought of overwriting the whole disk with zero's (it's new and empty anyway) and then reinstalling, but I don't want to just keep on repeating the same error.
Thanks in advance for answers.

ashickur.noor
February 7th, 2011, 05:51 PM
you have to restore the grub. See the thread of restoring grub.

Rubi1200
February 7th, 2011, 06:48 PM
Hi and welcome to the forums ben178 :-)

Before you continue, please do the following so we can see what is really going on with the current setup: